Be Strong. Be Fit.


 
 

Review of Celebrity Fitness at Subang Parade

October 20th, 2007 · 34 Comments ·
 
 

celebrity-fitness-subang-parade-outside-night-time.jpg

It has been close to a year since I last went to Celebrity Fitness at Subang Parade. I have been seeing it outside most of the times. But, this time, decided to go with my friend, who is a member at that club, for a workout.

When we drove there to park the car at Carrefour because we plan to do grocery shopping after workout, we actually saw some club members also parked their cars at Carrefour car parks. Simple reason – Subang Parade is charging RM2 whereas Carrefour is not doing that for now. When toll price and petrol price get higher, people are getting more cost-conscious.

Celebrity Fitness is located at the top floor of Subang Parade, a floor higher than the MPH bookstore. Was told that this place is larger than the other two gyms (27,000 sqft at One Utama and 23,000 sqft at Gurney Plaza, Penang). It is more than 30,000 sqft at Subang Parade.

Three studios at the club:

  1. One for dance classes
  2. One for purely RPM
  3. One for Yoga and Pilates

Nothing is different from what we have seen in One Utama Celebrity Fitness. Was told the operating hours are the same too – 6 AM to 12 AM everyday except 8 AM to 10 PM on Sunday.

After showing us around, we were shown with the so called official retail prices for the passport membership:

  • Joining Fee – RM798
  • Monthly Fee – RM228
  • Processing Fee – RM99

When we asked about discount, here is what shown by the sales person:

  • Passport based membership
    • Joining Fee – Waived
    • Monthly Fee – RM188
    • Processing Fee – RM99
  • Home based membership
    • Joining Fee – Waived
    • Monthly Fee – RM149
    • Processing Fee – RM99

The club is aggressively promoting the Diamond membership. The price tag is RM5,848 – a lifetime membership which only RM99 is required on fourth year onwards. Sad to say, the sales lady seems to be reluctant to push this package to us.

Most of the new banners are using Amber Chia’s sexy photos.

Last but not least, wanted to ask for the 7-day free trial passes, was told to fill up a form which wants 12 of my friend’s phone numbers. Decided not to since we were rushing for time. Ridiculous, 12 names.

As for the customer service, no comment from me for now.

Here are some of the photos taken:

celebrity-fitness-subang-parade-treadmills.jpg

Pay attention to the Carrefour signboard. You can have a view on the main road between SS12 and SS15 Subang Jaya. Not a spectaculars view by looking on the traffic jam out there, but better than nothing.

celebrity-fitness-subang-parade-free-weight.jpg

Just like other gyms, mirrors are everywhere.

celebrity-fitness-subang-parade-bikes.jpg

I don’t really like the ceiling. No doubt, it is high enough, but the colour of the painting up there and the dim lighting make the entire place look too dark. May be the management has done it purposely to make the gym looks really like a pub.

celebrity-fitness-subang-parade-amber-chia-poster.jpg

Yes, Amber Chia’s posters are seen everywhere. Too bad, didn’t see Amber Chia working out there.

Just like True Fitness, Celebrity Fitness is trying hard to sell Personal Training package. However, come on, customer gets only 1 bottle Giorgio Armani perfume after forking out more than RM4,000 for 60 sessions?

celebrity-fitness-subang-parade-machines.jpg

Another view on the treadmills which are facing the outside of the building.

What I Like About Celebrity Fitness at Subang Parade:

  • The club provides free towel service to the members.
  • The Diamond package is attractive if you know you are going to work out for long term.

subang-parade-location-map.jpg

Location Map of Subang Parade

Things To Watch Out

  • Somehow, after the renovation of mall, crowd is back to the place and it can be hard to get parking at the basement, especially during weekends.
  • Not enough lights. May be it is just me since it is so bright out there at the mall before we entered the place.

Share-It.jpg
 
 

Email This Post Email This Post

Category: Celebrity Fitness


If you like this or other articles in this blog, Subscribe to MunFitnessBlog.com today. It is free.
Scroll down to leave a comment. I really want to know what you think.
 
Found what you were looking for? If not, try searching for it below.  
Custom Search
 
34 responses so far ↓
  • Nurul Iman // Oct 21, 2007 at 10:09 PM

    Thanks for the review of Celeb Fitness (CF). I just went there today. The Diamond Package is attractive – was told the fee is RM5,484, and yes 4th year onwards RM99. Was assured – “no catch”. Of course, as I have been duped before (credit card deal, health centres, yup) I kept asking & asking and was reassurred – no catch. I really hope so. After going through the package – she finally said – the only way for me to get that Diamond offer is to sign up on the spot! The catch was – 1st visit promo (or something like that). This means, no thinking about it for a few days – or the Diamond deal will revert to RM149 x 48 months which is RM7152. No way I was going to join without “cooling off” period! It is after all, RM5k++ ! So I insisted – Diamond deal, or no deal at all. So, I guess, due to tough competition, she gave in (after consulting with “sales manager”). So I’m given til this Tuesday (23rd Oct) to sign up at the RM5484 price. So, Mun – just some last advice from you – is CF recommended? I chose the Subang Parade branch cos its the closest to me. Am at Shah Alam. Thanks.

  • Mun // Oct 21, 2007 at 10:15 PM

    Hi Nurul,

    Not to worry about the tactic of “Sign up today or else you won’t get the best deal”

    Celebrity Fitness is notorious of using this sales gimmick. It has been using it since year 2004. Never fall into this trap.

    I recommend you to go for free trial before you sign up the package.

    If you are uncertain whether you will be working out long term, sign up the regular package and later upgrade it to the lifetime membership at the later stage. You just need to top up the difference. Somehow, the salesperson intentionally will not mention this option until you ask this explicitly.

    Check out my tips on selecting gym – 10 Tips To Choose A Good Gym

  • Nurul Iman // Oct 21, 2007 at 10:24 PM

    Thanks for the speedy reply! So you mean that as a normal member – should I decide to revert to lifetime member, I just top up the difference of the RM7152 and the monthly fees I have paid til then?
    Thanks again – I will ask her this tomorrow.

  • Angie Tan // Oct 22, 2007 at 7:24 AM

    Finally.. My home gym.

    Not too bad except that parking sucks (coz everyone parks there to get on ktm komuter or works nearby).

    otherwise nurul, during the peak hours, you have to wait a bit for the machines. besides that, during then, the weights go missing (??!!), which pisses me off. during weekends, the gym is pretty empty except that parking sucks.

    other than that, the gym is pretty ok.

  • Nurul // Oct 22, 2007 at 2:38 PM

    Thanks for the extra info, Angie. Will take note of that.

    I just checked with sales on the diamond package – I can’t offset what I have from RM5484 should I decide to upgrade later. I can only offset from RM7k cos it seems the offer is only during this promo period. However, sales was willing to consider letting me try for a month before upgrading at RM5,454. She would also let me see the T&C before signing up.

    Final verdict – I will try out as normal member for a month and see if this workout regime can suit my lifestyle before comitting long term.

    Thanks and happy workout everyone!

  • Nurul Iman // Oct 23, 2007 at 11:41 PM

    Signed up as normal member today. Quite happy with the place – hoprefully will workout religiously to make it worth the fees! I also got up to 5 months to decide if I want an upgrade to Diamond at the RM5,484 price. So it’s win-win, I guess!

  • meiling // Oct 25, 2007 at 4:14 PM

    Nurul, I took lifetime membership in Subang as well, it been 1 year. same thing, there have a consultant keep saying that today is last day. end up i sign up…1 year already, if the consultant didn’t approach me or saying last day. i will just a normal membership n keep paying rental’149′ 4 nth!! so 4 my advice. if u serious in working out. u shud go 4 it. :) u can look 4 the manager. she will give u best deal. bcos she is my consultant.

  • kirksman // Nov 11, 2007 at 9:05 PM

    I’d like to use a few of your pictures for my blog. I hope you’re okay with it. Anytime you feel unhappy with them, do tel me. I’ll remove them .

  • Kiki // Nov 20, 2007 at 11:12 PM

    hey man, i just wanted to know.. which gym r u going to now? is it the best in ur opinion? n im considering celeb fitness in sbg parade n truefitness in taipan. i live in usj 5. which do gym is worth the money?? hpe u could help! thx

  • meiling // Dec 2, 2007 at 4:11 PM

    kiki,
    true fitness is big, hard 2 find parking, contract basic, 4 floors
    celebrityfitness is smaller, parking is ok, not a contract basic, less equipment than true, more classes..

  • rayn // Mar 12, 2008 at 4:31 PM

    hi mun, i’m male. i’m very interested to go to gym, to do some workout to shape my body. but my friends not interested. The problem is, i thing it is not enjoy if i work out alone… what do u think? i stay at damansara damai. can u suggest me where gym should i go?

  • Deep // Apr 4, 2008 at 10:27 PM

    Hi guys,

    I am desperately trying to find a group to join me in my quest to lose weight. Sadly, Malaysia does not have groups like Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig etc. Anyone out there who would like to join me? I desperately need the motivation a and challenge.

  • jl // Apr 8, 2008 at 5:37 AM

    what’s the difference between passport based and home based?

    i was told that since I’m a student.. i get the discount by paying RM149 as apposed to RM188 per month

    looks like i’ve been conned.

  • nizam // May 21, 2008 at 5:01 PM

    hai..,

    just stumbled to your blog via google..

    just want to ask – IOI Marriot Fitness Center is having a promotion.

    * Joining Fee – 399
    * Monthly Fee – RM120

    Normal joining fees is 1,200. Membership, is for lifetime.
    Besides gym, u also have akses to spa, jacuzzi, sauna, hotel swimming pool, free parking and discount for food and beverages consumes at the hotel.

    I’m wondering – is this a good packages? I’m working in Cyberjaya btw and i have a gym in the office, but just a gym.. , not really stimulating environment.

    what do you think.., is this a good packages?

  • rockybabu // Jun 16, 2008 at 10:52 AM

    hey all… anyone… :)
    my office is at wisma consplant, next to Subang Parade
    i’m checking out Fitness First at the ground floor
    just wondering…
    anybody has any experience working out / being a member there??
    or the celeb fitness is so much better
    btw, i was with goldsgym for the past 4 years
    i know both CF and FF look so “glamourous” from the outside…
    but how’s the instructors, classes, equipments etc???

  • Ken Arithia // Jul 4, 2008 at 3:18 PM

    Dirty Marketing of Celebrity fitness

    Dear Sir/madam,
    Im going to complaint about your dirty marketing done by one of your branch, Celebrity fitness at Belleza Permata Hijau (arteri Permata Hijau, Ground fl and 1st floor no 619, jl Letjen Soepeno No 34 South of Jakarta) Jakarta – Indonesia. I am the member whose signed on membership agreement no BZ 004910 – My name Ken arithia

    On December 17, 2007. Me and 3 of my friends went to Celebrity fitnes as I mention above, according the free 1 month brochure, for using gym facility. We bought those brochure for Rp 100.000.- (10 USD$). One of your staff (I don’t know the name, coz they didn’t use name tag). He introduce us to their facility, we couldn’t wait for using those facility based on brochure we bought, but he ignored, he pushed us to be a member instead. He took a blank form, he filled by himself by asking the question to us, he refused when we asking to filled by ourself (so we don’t know exactly the term and condition), when finished he asked tus to sign the paper by covering the term and condition by his hand, to showed where we have to sign, we didn’t have a negative thought bout this, we thought this membership for 330.000 / month, for a year, that’s it. Nothing more and less. After we signed, he explained those 330.000 would be deducted automatically from our account, from particular bank (Mandiri or BCA), he suggested to use one our parents account, as long as we didn’t have it, one of us (Dian) went back to her home to took the copy of book hers mom account and legalisation paper. While we waiting we asked them to start using the facility, but still he refuse seems likes its prohibited before we finished the administration (so the Rp 100.000 brochure is useless/we felt cheated). After Dian comeback we start to continued te processed, Ms Anggi asked us to sign the contract without any explanation, but after we signed, she explained that this contract for 12 months, if we canceled we will be charged Rp 500.000.- and first month being member. Why they explained after we signed, before we signed they didn’t fully explained, this is cheating. We felt that we got trapped, we refuse and we wont use any facility of Celebrity Fitness.

    And the day after, we applying to Celebrity Fitness to changing the account from Dian’s mom account to one of us (Sarijani) account, to avoid Dian’s mom got deducted. With Sarijani account Celebrity staff agreed if the aacount empty we will pay it manually.

    After 6 months, on June 2008, we fully surprised that Celebrity Fitness deducted to Dian’s mom account without any permittion from Dian’s mom at first place. What is this ?…………….. so this is how you run the bussiness by cheating and stealing anybody elses money…….I m so sorry bout that.

    We will expose this complain to the 2 formers news papers in town, if during 3 days we don’t receive Dian’s mom money, and unregistration our membership.

  • suddenlyslimmer // Oct 7, 2008 at 6:59 AM

    Im a member of celebrity fitness JAkarta. So far, Im very happy about it and upgraded to diamond membership.
    You guys should see the Celebrity VIP it’s awesome!

  • pablo // Oct 13, 2008 at 4:52 PM

    why i must pay the month that i didnt attend ? .n why must that i day i should pay terminate fees

  • jc // Oct 14, 2008 at 7:37 PM

    hiya, i’ve recently enquired about CF at subangparade. they kinda offered like RM 74/mth at firsxt through the phone the mktg exec said for 24 mths contract..when i reach there…he then told me it’s a 48 mth contract.What pisses me off is the mktg mgr…she kept insisting it’s the best deal for tat day even when i mentioned the offers TF and Carlifornia Fitness was offerring. sigh arrogant and ignorant stating their club was d best wif no reduction of rates. Is it true tat members pay rm 149/mth even tied up for 24 mths or 12 mths contracts. kinda looking at the best deal since CF is nearest to my home.

  • tan // Nov 24, 2008 at 4:15 PM

    I am a member if the celebrity since dec 2007. I am going to stop the membership soon. I plan to do so is because
    1) workout machine become old , not well maintain, and “karak” spot on the machine can clearly see.

    2) The piping water split out from the floor since the 1st day I joined the membership. Until now, the staff said it is difficult to repair and just let situation like that for already 1 year.

    3) The small tower always out of stock or services. Somemore the tower very old and looks like “kain untuk lap meja”. The towe may be “lubang- lubang” as well. Tower service i charged in out monthly membership fee. Last time sales person said 1 month tower service is rm15. The service is optional. but normal most membership will take that tower services as well.

    4) The upgrade membership price from 1 year membership to 4 years membership offered by sales person may different. Among 1 year period, 3 sales person offer me different price. Must be very becaful to duel with those sales person. All verbal promise must be in black and white. or else….

    5) some locker already spoil and not get repairing.

    6) Some room partition for the shower can not be use and some of the ceilin in the partition was gone.

    7) The machine for water drinking button spoil and water keep flow out if you not close it “properly”.

    The above issue already exist for long period and no action had been taken.
    so, please check and see carefuly before you all want to join any fitness centre.

  • tan // Nov 24, 2008 at 4:40 PM

    The “poor ” Celebrity Fitness I had mentioned is located at Subang Paraded. Take note .

    Becareful with the sales person . They play a lot tactic to cheat ppl.
    need all in black and white when they promise somethings.

    I remenber last time the sales person promise to promote free 1 month where i no need to pay the fee at the last month of the 1 year contract membership. but I had checked with the customer service a few times , they said differnt story each time.

    no black and white…….shit “i kena cheated”.

    BEWARE Them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Hanz // Dec 25, 2008 at 1:02 AM

    Hey..
    Can i know about their job vacancies?

  • daouz // Feb 12, 2009 at 9:44 AM

    hai ryan, looks like we are in the same boat. i have no friends that have the interest to go to gym u know? i still stydying in shah alam (uitm) and we have that almost full completed facilities gym plus FREE Personal Triner who are the sport science student that always there if you need any assitance.

    the gym is quite small but if you know the right time to go. u’ll be fine.

    i live in sg. buloh and the nearest gym is in subang (near the airport) and the facilities is quite poor. the membership is quite expensive. so i’m not interested plus something wrong with the operation hour.

    the 2nd one is at the Shah Alam Stadium and promoting student rates. i went there and i’m not only talking to the sales person but directly to the owner. he is damn friendly. i’m sure to sign up because the facilities is quite poor.

    i also looking for a gym partner right now but yet still could not find it. it will be not very worth it to travel far to go to gym. it takes about 45 minutes to travel with my old C-70 Honda motorcycle to Shah Alam or 30 minutes to Subang.

    but i will always go to the university gym if i have class and i exercise alone.

  • Yugen // Jul 22, 2009 at 11:36 PM

    The frontline manager Winnie and exec maggie are totally rude and not helpfull at all .Do not deal with them for any reason at all .I had my fair share of problems with these two who do not regard the customer with any respect

  • zack // Oct 6, 2009 at 5:24 PM

    Hi ,
    If i want to join this club.how the package suitable with me?
    I only around subang for 2 or 3 week a months. Another 2 weeks normally i will outstation. Is there any suitable package for me?

  • Yugen Kanason // Oct 7, 2009 at 10:13 AM

    bro,
    there are many packages there to suit ur needs,but pls listen carefully to the terms and conditions if u are goin to pay by credit card moreover zero percent interst scheme,i got cheated and their agent ran away and the two supid managers there , winnie and another one chinese lady la im not sure will make ur life hard and put the blame on u ,but i never gave up and somehow got a refund of 3/4 ,so if i were u i wont choose celebrity fitness subang parade,the more intersted in getting ur money , all the girls with skimpy tight clothes ,just not worth it, i personally will never return after my experience,but u could check with sabrina the ops mgr at celeb fitness sub parade,she was the one who helped me out…..once again,make sure u knw wat u want n tell them wat u want not what they want …research first al the gym….

  • Omar Adli // Jul 23, 2010 at 3:31 AM

    i 1st sign up for the CF membership at CF sunway pyramid.. there is one consultant name KEVIN.. he is very nice.. im quite shock when this blog show the membership was so expansive.. i dont know.. it was written years ago..
    when i go to sunway, the new CF gym is opened at kepong sentral.. so the manager in sunway hv to move to kepong sentral.. so they have new manager there in sunway.. i was offered a great price for joining fee.. its only RM287.. and monthly fee was just RM138.. and waived processing fee.. and the contract is just for 12 month.. i joined it on 3rd of the month.. so i get free admittance for the next 12 day until 15th..

    then after that. i change my home club from sunway to subang parade since it is easier for me to get public transport and a friend of mine already working out there.. i called kevin to change my home club and again, he waived the processing fee for changing home club.. actually it will be RM99 for the fee.. plus he offered me to take all-club and just add RM30 per month..

    i am so happy to have a good consultant and very lucky coz dont have to spent like crazy for the gym like everyone else..

  • zz // Sep 3, 2010 at 7:26 AM

    Hi guys, thanks for all the tips and complaints about CF in Subang Parade. I guess lucky me I haven’t sign up. I thot of joining that gym since I just moved in to the neighborhood. Also, because my aerobic instructor was teaching there too. Actually, we are formally from Fitness Network in CentrePoint Bandar Utama but unfortunately the gym out of business after the new management took over. I’m a big fan of this aerobic instructor so I’ve been following him a long time and he teaches all the classes in all CF branch. Most of my frens from Fitness Network are joining CF in 1Utama because of him….no choice, we love his classes so much. So far, I never heard them complaining about CF in 1Utama But for me, I lived in SJ now so I thot CF in SP is the nearest but now I have to think twice about joining them. I rather go somewhere else even it takes longer and more time to travel.

  • Yugen Kanason // Sep 8, 2010 at 1:19 PM

    My sincere advice before you join any of these gym’s to read their terms and conditions properly and listen carefully to their pacages and make sure what they say is on black and white .Nowadays there are may competitions and all these gym’s are competing .No doubt there are good gym’s and there are the genuine one’s out there ; sad to say these nice people who were there to convince you whislt you were signing up will be the same people who will be arguing with you that the customer is wrong and also in a rude manner . CF Subang Parade has a bunch of front line managers who are young and beautiful but utterly rude when its comes to after sales service . I will never forget CF subang parade . Untill today when Im in subang parade and many times I have bumped into these managers and they still show a rude face .They are so unprofessional .
    But kudos to the wonderfull few professional few from CF subang prad who actually listened and helped me solve my problem .I really appreciate them .

    Make a right decision everyone . Its not a small amount . Whilst health is wealth , dont get cheated of your wealth .

    Rgds

  • banisha // Oct 2, 2010 at 6:53 PM

    I am a diamond member of Celebrity Fitness for the past three years and I
    really regret joining them. A fitness centre is supposed to be kept clean but it is not the case here. The toilets have stains for long time(not properly cleaned)
    and no one monitors. The sinks have been leaking for a long time and the
    management is not bothered to repair. When I wash my hands my shoes get wet as well as my clothes.
    If you go for a early morning workout you have to listen to the sound of
    an old vacuum cleaner for quite sometime and can also feel the dust in the
    air. Can they not do the vacumming before the gym opens. Complaining
    to the staff here is like talking to the wall. So therefore think twice before you
    become a life member! They take a lot of yourmoney but do not provide the services that they should.

  • Chris Lee // Mar 23, 2011 at 7:56 PM

    Hi All.

    Yes i agree with everything that’s being said about gimics about CF.
    The salesperson tries their very best to sign you up by just telling you the advantage of becoming a member while concealing the nasty truth about payments especially.
    They don’t just conceal. They even lie to you about “promotions” and “discounts” and “waiving fees”. The time I went i was told the original joining price was 8k plus!!! Then he lower the price to 180/month to make you feel special. It’s actually the same for everyone.

    Just 1 advice. REMEMBER to read ALL the terms and conditions before signing!!!! They make the font terribly small so you cant read it on the spot!

    Next time when you get ambiguous charges, or when problem arises, you will try to find the salesperson responsible but i promise he/she will no longer be there. Once they get enough commissions they just vanish into thin air.

  • kents // Mar 25, 2011 at 12:33 AM

    True enough for Chris Lee. And thats not all. I’m now searching a way to get back to them so that they will pay for what they did.If you have any complaint about CF in 1U please tell. I’m totally disgusted by them.

  • NN // Apr 5, 2011 at 3:26 AM

    Hei mun,
    I’ve been following your blog religiously, eventhough this is my first post ever..I think you’ve done an outstanding job on the blog..so, kudos to you..for your info, i once worked at Fitness ‘censor’, as a membership manager, and if you like, i could share the ‘behind the scene’ stuff that consumers should know, including the operation side of it (credit card, payment & stuff), and also the sales side of it (sales script, gimmicks), in my next post..let me know ok..keep up the good job

  • Mason // Jun 15, 2011 at 9:48 AM

    I should check this out before i signed up… sigh… i feel like get conned… RM185 each month… f*ck!
    But i didn’t have those problem with leaking water pipe or tower lah…

Leave a Comment