Be Strong. Be Fit.


 
 

Review of California Fitness at Mid Valley (2)

August 12th, 2007 · 28 Comments ·
 
 

This is the second post of the review of California Fitness at Mid Valley. First post can be found here.

california-fitness-website.jpg

The way California Fitness branded its membership package is like the bankers did to credit cards. If you know the Classic, Gold and Platinum concept in differentiating the credit cards, you will have a better idea.

The sales person spent about half an hour to go through each package. He told us, “Only if you are committed to come here to work out often, say at least 2 or 3 times a week, you should join us. Take into consideration where you work and where you stay. Otherwise, you may not think your investment worth the value.” He gave a very fair recommendation. However, he still used the typical sales gimmick – join today to get the last day offer. We did not buy in to that and told him that we would make use of the free pass for a week before making decision.

In short, California Fitness Malaysia has the following packages:

  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Platinum Plus
  • Infinity

mid-valley-california-fitness-entrance-poster.jpg

Was told the figures will be reviewed from time to time, so, the following package details are subject to changed:

Bronze

  • RM99 per month
  • 1-year contract
  • Restricted to only one club
  • No towel service.
  • Can go to the club only 4 days a week on Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Sunday or Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday, Sunday.

Silver

  • RM138 per month
  • 1-year contract
  • RM138 enrollment fee and RM99 processing fee are imposed now
  • Restricted to only one club
  • Complimentary towels are given.
  • Can go to the club only 4 days a week on Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Sunday or Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday, Sunday.

Gold

  • RM158 per month
  • 1- year contract
  • RM158 enrollment fee and RM99 processing fee are imposed now
  • Restricted to only one club
  • Complimentary towels are given.
  • Can go to the club any day.

Platinum

  • RM178 per month
  • 1-year contract
  • RM238 enrollment fee and RM99 processing fee are imposed now
  • Has an option to pay RM3,762.15 (inclusive of enrollment and processing fee) for 3-year membership (average of RM105 per month). This amount can be paid in 12 monthly installments if you credit cards from certain banks.
  • Can go to any California Fitness in the world
  • Complimentary towels are given.
  • Can go to the club any day.

Platinum Plus

  • RM159 per month
  • No contract (paid as you go)
  • RM599 enrollment fee and RM99 processing fee
  • Can go to any California Fitness in the world
  • Complimentary towels are given.
  • Can go to the club any day.

Infinity

  • RM5,657.40 for the initial investment (can be paid in 12 monthly installments if you credit card from certain banks.)
  • The membership is renewed for RM88 second year onward. Yeah, only RM88 per year.
  • Can go to any California Fitness in the world
  • Complimentary towels are given.
  • Can go to the club any day
  • Travel bag, T-shirt, towel will be given free of charge (will be given free of charge and they will delivered to your house)
  • 12 VIP passes which each has 1 month validity (meant for relatives).
  • If a couple want to join together for the Infinity, the cost will be RM9,988 for 2 persons. (Looking at those numbers, I strongly believe the marketing head is a Chinese)

Note: None of the above membership can be transferred.

california-fitness-swimming-pool-side.jpg

What I Like About California Fitness Mid Valley:

  • It has huge space and good air ventilation.
  • Swimming pool and basket ball court are something other gyms do not have.
  • If you are staying around Desa Petaling or Bangsar, California Fitness should be considered.

Things to Watch Out:

  • The Infinity package sounds attractive for me, I would have signed up on the spot if not because of the restriction of transfer and the distance between my home and Mid Valley.
  • It may not be easy to get parking at Mid Valley Megamall during weekends. With the expansion of new wing and additional parking bays, this issue may be solved.
  • Also, take the parking fee into your budget consideration before you sign up. The building management has reviewed the parking fee since late March 2007. The fee used to be RM1 per entry on weekday and RM3 per entry on weekend. The new rates are:

7am to 12am (per entry per day)

Weekdays Weekends / Public Holidays
First 3 hours RM1 RM3
Subsequent hour RM1 RM1
Maximum RM7 RM9

12am to 7am (per entry per day)

Weekdays Weekends / Public Holidays
Flat rate RM1 RM3

mid-valley-california-fitness-jackie-chan-bodyguard.jpg

mid-valley-california-fitness-jackie-chan-grand-opening.jpg

For those who have made up their mind to join, consider the life time package. It is one of the best deals in town.

Share-It.jpg
 
 

Email This Post Email This Post

Category: California Fitness


If you like this or other articles in this blog, Subscribe to MunFitnessBlog.com today. It is free.
Scroll down to leave a comment. I really want to know what you think.
 
Found what you were looking for? If not, try searching for it below.  
Custom Search
 
28 responses so far ↓
  • Angie Tan // Aug 12, 2007 at 10:01 PM

    thanks for the review. some friends have recommended cali-fit but i’ve turned it down as it was too far from where i stayed.

    wow, the parking is killing! at least when i work out at celeb-fit, the parking is RM2 per entry. same goes for at 1u, rm1 for the 1st 6hrs or so. however, the latest outlet at bangsar village II has the most expensive parking – hourly parking which i can’t recall how much. :-P

  • David // Sep 9, 2007 at 7:22 PM

    Angie: Agree with you about the parking at Midvalley.

  • Jess // Sep 13, 2008 at 9:38 PM

    A friend of mine is leaving KL, he wants to transfer his CARLIFORNIA membership in Mid Valley, if you are interested, please call 012 5116329.

    Remaining duration is about 12 months. It’s strictly for Mid-valley, a gold member, going for RM80. Should you are interested, you need to pay me the lump sum.

    Thanks

  • SNg // Sep 17, 2008 at 2:47 PM

    I had a very bad experince with California Fitness. I joined this gym back in 2006 by then it was still nice. But for some reasons I didnt continue and I only when there like once or twice in that one month.

    However, this year in 2008 my friend wanted to transfer his membership in MV for a very good deal. So I thought why not since it was near my office (btw my office was at Menara IGB) which makes more sense cause then I could save the parking fees and I can go after work.

    The transfers was done and my friend had left the country. 2 weeks after, I returned to the gym, the consultant (Cecilia) told me that my membership was frozen and there are pending of RM2k!!!

    In addtion, She (Cecilia) was so freaking RUDE and giving me that ‘cocky’ eye stare. The system was not able to detact it ealier during the transfer was done. She said that because I was a member before, the transfer should not be applicable. And I was told that my previous membership (2006) was still active.
    Goodness!!! explain to me how is it that the membership still active after 2 yrs (1 yr contract) This is like day light robbery. So what happens if I die, my membership continues and who is going to pay????!!!!!
    This is ridiculous….I wonder all these gym are made to help ppl to stay fit or just there to rip ppls fortune or undercover ah long joint.

    Anyway i failed to understand why these consultant have such bad customer service….and attitude is another issue.
    Why I can comment cause coming from customer service b/grd i know what thing that is important are manners!!!!!!

    Cecilia, California Fitness Midvalley ….Do mind your manners. You are a very bad and rude consultant

    For those who wanna join CF my advise (whtr u want to it or not….) DO NOT JOIN CALIFORNIA FITNESS MIDVALLEY
    1) Locker broken very bad…run down
    2) steam bath – very dirty
    3) Machine broken, not working
    4) Hygenien problem – Trainer’s sweat was all over the machine…I saw it dripping all over…gross
    5) VERY RUDE CONSULTANT

    Anyway these are my comments. If you want the challenge go ahead and join…

    Good Luck!!

  • Alex // Sep 21, 2008 at 1:51 PM

    My friend also recently found out that, despite having stopped going after finishing his 1-year contract, they continued to bill him every month, up until recently where his “bill” accumulated to about RM1000+.

    I would strongly advise checking out smaller gyms (i.e. not California Fitness, Fitness First, Celebrity Fitness ad nauseam) as you’d get a more honest-to-goodness place to work out.

  • Prav // Oct 7, 2008 at 9:28 AM

    Hiya,
    I joined CF in MVM sometime in June. Overall it’s an above average gym, with fully functional equipment.

    My main gripe is with the patrons. A number of them are inconsiderate, rude and plain obnoxious. There is a distinct lack of gym etiquette observed in the MVM branch. Examples include leaving towels on machines as a sign of ‘reservation’, groups of three to four individuals standing around a machine and chit-chatting and hogging the machine, and some using the machines as a place to rest. I’m also a bit disappointed that CF does not have general floor trainers to help with pointers and tips; advice comes with a price.

    All in all, good infrastructure, but as usual, certain groups spoil the fun for the rest of us.

  • Prozac // Oct 8, 2008 at 11:49 AM

    In regards to SNg post, I had my experience as well.

    Few months back, I decided to take a look of what this gym has to offer.Encountered with this lady named “Alicia”. She explains the rates to us and this is where it turns ugly. After explaining to her that I am still trying to look around, she does not accept the reason and keep on being pushy towards us signing the deal. It takes her no time to start being rude and talk all sort of nonsense like if you don’t join the gym here and now, you just going to enter the grave faster. She make the whole thing like if you don’t join now, you won’t be able to continue surviving outside. It’s like the gym is going to give you money if you start going to gym as she even compare it with going to work when she ask you if offer letter is given to you, are you going to wait and consider the offer further rather than just sign it. Oh hello??! Work feeds your daily expenses! Can’t help but think she’s on a curse or something as she is really rude and look down on others. At the end, she just won’t apologize and walk away rudely stating that it’s our lost for not signing on the spot.

    And best part, few weeks later, CF got the guts to call back in and ask whether I’m interested after what happened. Given situation like this, I advice those interested to join, take some prozac before you speak to those consultants. You’ll never know if you encounter one like mine whom can make you high blood pressure.

    Happy dealing with one of those~

  • SNg // Oct 8, 2008 at 2:00 PM

    I am surprised that Prozac experinced the similiar situation with the consultant. I think we should all boy cott and complained all these consultant from CALIFORNIA FITNESS – MIDVALLEY especially, They either have to go for a course or they should get fired.

    I also forgot to mentioned prior to my incident, I called up to get a consultant and the same attitude …he mentioned if you don’t sign up under him…that I will not entitle for this offer apparently……
    HEY mind them there are plenty of offers/gym out there…

    Recently I signed up myself with another gym…. but they gave me loads of excuse with regards to the offer:

    1) Promotion ended – no more 2 yrs for est RM130. Only if u signed up 3yrs, then you get this price –
    My Verdict : I stand firm and said only 2 yrs for the same price, and briefly mentioned that without this I just bring my business else where.

    2) You must have certain card to entitle the 0% for 24 mths – the CC I hold was not valid for 24 mths but 12mths instead
    My verdict: Again I stand firm and gave her the poker face :) that i will not sign up. Then later she pursuaded and decided to give me additional 10% from the total biling!!!!!

    3) Starter kit – Bag, 1big towel and 1 small tower and bottle
    I told the consultant I dont want those bags… or bottle..cause I have plenty of those instead I nego to get 2 sets of towel!!!! LOL

    Final verdict: Btw I declined all their vouchers cause I know i have to top up when i use the voucher. Its a waste of money anyway. And i got what i wanted, a good deal and extra towels :) (if involves give and take)

    My advise to those you wanna plan to join gym
    Just stand firm and give them the poker face look…and always tell them if you are not happy…you can always bring your business elsewhere

    Enjoy yr workout.

  • Anonymous // Oct 10, 2008 at 10:37 PM

    Does the gym have an age limitation? As in we’ve gotta be 18 or older to join or something? Can teens register as members too?

  • Mun // Oct 11, 2008 at 1:18 PM

    To Anonymous: To sign the gym contract, I believe that you have to be 18 years old.

  • Anonymous // Oct 11, 2008 at 3:07 PM

    Oh okay. But someone below the age of 18 will still be able to use the gym, right? Thanks in advance :)

  • SNg // Oct 13, 2008 at 12:02 PM

    True fitness have promotion for new comer below 21yrs old….i think its like RM105.

  • AngryCustomer // Nov 12, 2008 at 3:53 PM

    Horrible Horrible Service at CF in the Sunway Pyramid , I fell for their sell scam and if you sign up now you get a better deal and bs like everyone else already described.

    The staff over there are terrible , as if i owe them something, extremely rude, no manner what so ever , if you ask me don’t join CF , join any other gym.

    They are running some sort of scam here, worst gym i have ever been too.

    Is there any customer protection agency in Malaysia , that i can take the issue too , the membership contract is very shady ,and suspicious. ?

  • Alan // Nov 18, 2008 at 5:22 PM

    Ya please everyone think before you join this stupid fitness . They locker got big problems ~~ even you have your own lock also thing will fly away ….

    My personal experience about the locker, I have a big and expansive lock.
    i use it everyday, but my cash also get lost. no matter RM50 or 500 ..there also gone i have asked other peoples there and what i got the feedback is … ” Ya …the stealer smart because they only take cash without trace ” of course we have report to they management and they tell this is not they problems and not your locker is not crash broke …you just said you lost only ..how to justify you got lost the money ….. wah ~~~ that good skill to push like this.

    And people who visit here please …..think before you join this stupid fitness .
    and if you rich ….you can try to join …because you can spend more then us .

  • tkh // Jan 6, 2009 at 5:44 PM

    I wanna ask that must we be the member of the fitness center to workout in the fitness center?

  • frank // Jan 12, 2009 at 3:54 PM

    U mean the thief only choose this gym to steal and not the others? You mean gym there are gym that is safe? Please introduce?

  • azar // Apr 22, 2009 at 3:32 PM

    i have also some experience at the gym. although the gym facilities and amenities are quite ok, with the pool and everything, but the customer service is always a problems. i had terminated my membership already but having to terminate that was a problem. there was one time when i want to terminate my membership, they said i lack one payment and i cannot have done it until i pay the balance. to my surprise, i have never missed any payment, and don’t know how that can be possible, they said, there was one time i paid 1 months membership fees instead of two. however, i remember that i paid for 2 months, but i think they recorded it as one. i was very dissapointed and went back home to look for my credit card statement and the statement indicate that i paid for the sum of 2 months. 1-2 weeks later, i came back and show my statement, and clearly there was an error in their system. without feeling any guilt, they change the figures in front of me and say that there was no problem initially. i was pissed and want to continue on my termination and they said that, they have already charged me with the next month fees. i said that i have wanted to end my membership 2 weeks ago and how could you still charged me with the next month membership, they have overcharged me and they want me to pay, how can that be, i was so angry, but the manager was not around. the customer service is so terrible and would not want to return there. they put all the blame and fault towards the customer where as they are the one doing the mistakes.

  • Miss Tan // May 12, 2009 at 12:57 AM

    Hi everyone, I am totally agreed with you all. Please don’t choose California Fitness, or if you are rich enough, please go ahead.

    Few years back, I have joined their Gold membership package. After 1 month, they persuade me and my sister to join their Infinity Membership package, which is a life time membership.

    We have paid RM8943.9 in total, for a couple plan Infinity membership. We paid this by installment (3 years). Meaning, the bank paid this amount in advance, and we paid to the bank by installment 3 years. Besides this installment, we will also need to pay RM88 as the membership renewal fees each year.

    Due to the busy working life, we seldom go for work out ( this is the main reason we sign up for infinity, as there is no expired date for the membership).

    Even though we are busy with tight working scedule, we are still able to go for work out within 2005-2007. At year 2008, we didn’t go for work out at all. Till March 2009, we try to go for work out and guess what happen?? The staff there told us, we have RESIGNED our membership!!

    We are quite shock to hear that and so questioned them how could it be as we have fully paid for the membership. The stupid staff told us we have not visited them since 2008, and the renewal for the membership (RM88) has overdue. We were told that it is their policy to terminate our membership if we are not able to pay for that renewal fees after 3 months from the due date, which is August 2008.

    I explainted to them we are very busy to go for work out and most of the time in 2008, we were away to oversea. There is no one contact us regarding this renewal fees, how can they terminate our membership without giving any notification?

    After that, the stupid staff ask us to get a verification letter from our company, to prove that we were away from Malaysia. However, after we faxed the letter to the Member Service Manager, Miss Leenah, we are told that we need to pay for another RM299 reconnection fees and RM168 renewal fees, then only they will help to activate our membership.

    I am totally dissapointed and fed up with California Fitness. Why should I pay for the reconnection fees? And how can they just simply terminate our membership without notification? The stupid manger told me that more than 60 similar cases happened and those members have paid RM299 to reactivate their membership. Is California Fitness to poor, and cheat money by using this way??!!

    Furthermore, their customer service is the worst I would say. They have no manners at all and the way they talk to you, is like I owe them money. I thought California Fitness suppose to have good reputation? How can all these happen?

    Anyway, I am not willing to pay for RM299. The stupid Member Service Manager told me they will issue me a letter, and someone will follow up with me on this. I am waiting for this letter, but I still haven’t got this letter after waiting for more than 1 week. I guess they are trying to escape from me.

    I will see what they gonna do next. And for sure, I will go lodge a report at Tribunal Tuntutan Pengguna and I do hope they can help to protect us.

    For those who want to join this stupid California Fitness, please think carefully. I am not the 1st who complaint, there are lots of complaints out there. It is not worth for what you have paid!

    I am joining Mid Valley branch, therefore I am not too sure about the service at other branches. However, I guess their tricks are all the same, which apply to all branches.

    If you still want to go ahead, good luck.

  • albertyeow // Jun 8, 2009 at 1:57 PM

    Reason why you should choose California Fitness

    1) It is the cheapest compare to all the large gym in the market. During promotion period or non promotion if you know how to dig they are cheapest. But are easily fooled into crap membership

    2) The most crowded. Peak hour you have the most crowd. Have to queue for equipments. Lowest rate of loyal members.

    3) Quality of crowd is the commonest. Low grade. As they are the cheapest

    4) Cleanliness. They have the stinkiest toilet as cheap fees you get low maintainance. You will see shit in the bath or spits too. Smelly toilets all the time. Dirty towels sometimes you even see fluids. Dirty equipments and always under repair.

    5) Security – Highest crime rate. Check out all the old members you will know how many have got hit.

    6) Rude staff and dishonest sales person. No integrity as like the management. They will only entertain the rich

    7) Quality – Most equipments are old, weighing scale, sauna and steam is most of the time out of order.

    8) Company direction – more corwd more money. So new recruitment is the main key not maintainance of current clientele

  • shay // Jul 15, 2009 at 9:20 AM

    i have been silent about california fitness midvalley…but it it time to speak up……….i had been a member for a year and a half and i am very angry with the way they have treated me .i asked for a personal trainer and paid the high price required but unfortunately i did not receive the quality training that i should have got for the price.the trainer did his job for the first few sessions well and then started slacking off….came late for sessions,cancelled sessions frequently without informing me earlier.he would tell me sessions were cancelled when i arrived for my session!!!!when i signed up he promised to throw in a few extra complimentary sessions which he never did.i made a complaint to the personal trainer HEAD and was told that i was very fussy and promises made by the trainer to the client does not involve the management.

    needless to say that i wasted my money and i did not achieve the weight loss that i hoped.my advise to anybody who wants to join the gym…dont fall for the crap personal trainers give u…ie package prices that are supposedly beneficial to you…they are trained to trick u of your money in the name of health and fitness.most of them are fast talkers and cannot deliver the results though they will convince u they can.i am not saying all personal trainers are bad.how do u know?do your research…ask their clients…see how they train their clients and then approach the client and get details.never sign the package deal on the spot.take ample time to think and research about exercise from the net and magazines.attractive as it may be to have a personal trainer remember these are not celebrity trainers…u r much better off going for group fitness classess than losing your money and not getting results from these so called trainers.and if u must know ..i have lost over ten kilos by being regular in my classes at the gym and eating right, all this without a personal trainer and my money intact.

  • Anonymous // Jul 15, 2009 at 10:48 AM

    Hi Shay,

    Please go to Tribunal Court at The Mall, 16th floor to make a claim if you are not satisfied with California Fitness.

    My friend has been forced by them to pay for a reconnection fee at RM299, as they terminated his LIFETIME membership without giving any notification. He was being told that he did not pay the renewal fee and that is why he was resigned automatically. After making a claim at Tribunal, CF canceled the reconnection fee and he just need to pay for the yearly renewal fee.

    Please inform people around you do not fall into their trap. This is the worst fitness club with worst customer service too.

  • Eric // Aug 29, 2009 at 1:14 AM

    I never have any problem with CF since joining in 2005. 4 years later, Im still a very proud member.

    It’s a little sad that Celebrity Fitness has bought over JV Fitness (owner of CF), and hence, all California Fitness clubs is being transformed into Celebrity clubs slowly. The first is the obvious, taking down of California signages and Jackie Chan logos, starting tonight..

    But still, all California members cannot go to Celebrity Fitness, but Celebrity members CAN go to California clubs.. hereafter, Celebrity will add 3 more clubs to their list, and California will cease to exist..

    The date to look for is Sept 1..

  • fria // Sep 29, 2009 at 10:18 PM

    california fitness sucks! the staff treats you like dog shit, the trainers are don’t give a rat’s arse about you, and the consultant excels at making you think you’re getting a good deal when you sign up, but in the end, you just get conned!

    i signed up for 20 sessions with a trainer and she canceled class almost every week, then when she gave a replacement date for the class, she would last minute cancel it also. not just that, but every time she would pester me about getting my family ,friends to join… I didn’t get a trainer to hear pitch sales! I complained to the staff and they didnt sympathize with me, instead their attitude was like I was disturbing them and being a demanding, annoying customer.

    the machines are too closed together, heck the place is cramped, and it’s always crowded.

    when i said i wanted to terminate my contract, they said cannot, then the woman gave me a lan si face and her tone implied that i was too lazy thats why i didn’t want to go gym anymore. then she said, since you’re going to pay anyway, you can either force yourself to go or you can just waste your money and dont go. up to you .
    how can you speak that way to your customers?
    I was so shocked I couldn’t even think of anything to say.

  • alan // Sep 30, 2009 at 1:13 PM

    Hope jacke chan can see this , how they customer services and how they treat customer .

    :-( I still remember my RM400 steal from there and they do nothing about that .
    THis issue is amost 1 years and now still hear about happen again .

    Guys girl women ,…. kid …whatever whoever joined member please watch out your locker . its not safe .

  • brad // Nov 2, 2009 at 1:43 AM

    i am same victim like all u guys. I am infinity member of mid valley. They dont let me to renew my member. The stupid club ever i seen. I still remember before they invite me to join infinity they just say this is ur 2nd house, we help you to maintain it. All you have to do is pay for rm7999. The renewal fees first year dont have to pay, second year is rm165 for every year renew charging.
    I feel very frust for their sales tactics and the shit shit shit customer services.
    Especially for the shit leenah…
    and all the receptionist
    They try to fool everyone.
    Stupid club.

  • Miss Tan // Nov 11, 2009 at 2:56 PM

    Hi Brad,

    Please go to Tribunal Court (@ The Mall, 16th Floor) to make a claim. I am successfully got back my membership after making a claim at Tribunal.

    Yes, I am totally agreed with you, California Fitness is the stupidest club in Malaysia!

  • Jungledude // Nov 16, 2009 at 11:21 PM

    Celebrity Fitness took over california fitness…

  • brad // Nov 17, 2009 at 12:00 AM

    Dear Miss Tan
    Thanks for your advice, although i had joined New fitness centre now (Fitness First) For more than half year. But I think i will take your advice too. I will go Tribunal Court to complaint.
    Thanks in advance

    Brad

Leave a Comment